Do you learn the hard way?

I’ve gotten much better about this at the age of 50, but I still tend to learn the hard way.

When I have an idea, I feel it has to be acted upon immediately, or it won’t happen at all. ADD? Maybe. Frustrating? Absolutely – for me and everybody else.

This portrait of my daughter is one example. It turned out okay, but I painted it first and looked for tutorials later. Guess what I found! There were much more efficient and effective ways to accomplish my goal of capturing my beautiful daughter’s likeness on canvas.Chelsie

Will I ever become the type of person who is cautious, careful and researches everything before moving forward? I don’t see that happening. While it can be – okay IS – a real pain it is also one of the “flaws” I have that has made my life interesting and fun. I have also learned a lot, even if I took the curviest of paths to get there.

5 thoughts on “Do you learn the hard way?

  1. I once took an assessment on WebMD to see if I had symptoms of adult ADD. According to that assessment, I am the poster child for adult ADD. I broached the subject with my physician during a visit and wondered if I should consider treatment. But then I backed off of that idea; I figured that with all the baggage that comes with being a little ADD, it’s been with me pretty much all of my life, and I’ve incorporated enough of the positives associated with my ADD to counterbalance the negatives. It’s a part of what makes me what I am. What’s to say that if I had it treated it wouldn’t dilute or suppress some of the qualities that have allowed me to be successful at what I do? I’ve decided to just let ‘er rip; I think that overall ADD is a much a strength as a weakness in my case; why tinker with it?

    • You’ve hit the nail on the head…no need to worry about it now, Brian. Your life is a good one as is. If you weren’t able to be sccessful, you could be concerned, but you have shown you’re fine just the way you are!

  2. I knew who it was instantly! You’ve captured her for sure. Congratulations on a new phase of painting. Don’t change yourself too much…it may take the ‘life’ out of you. Age does make some new things come along….not all that bad. 🙂

Comments? Leave them here.

